History and Traditions Committee


The History and Traditions Committee encourages and facilitates the collection and preservation of materials relating to the history and traditions of OR/MS. Relevant materials include documents, audio, and video recordings, and other artifacts relating to the ORMS field, its founders, leaders, and notable activities. It encourages the creation and dissemination of new historical materials through articles in society publications, books, symposia, sessions at national meetings, electronic media, and other means, in order to summarize, interpret, and carry forward the history and traditions of ORMS.

2020 Membership

Linus Schrage, Chair, 01/01/2019 – 12/31/2020
Mark J. Eisner 10/01/2019 - 12/31/2021
Doug Shier, 1/1/2019 - 12/31/2021
Luk Van Wassenhove  01/01/2019 - 12/31/2021

Advisory Board Members

Arjang Assad, 01/01/2019 - 12/31/2024
Irvin Lustig, 10/01/2019 - 12/31/2024
Shaler (Sandy) Stidham, Jr, 10/01/2019 - 12/31/2024

Staff Liaison: Dir of Recognition & Development (Mary Magrogan)

Board Liaison: Ramayya Krishnan, Past President  

Current activities

The committee has undertaken a multi year project to collect historical materials about operations research and management science.  The History and Traditions web site will be enhanced to assist in accessing these materials directly or via links or guidance to external locations.  Watch for changes to the History and Traditions web site in 2020 and beyond.