Donald G. Morrison

TIMS President, 1991-1992

Don Morrison was the 38th President of TIMS. Morrison has held numerous editorial positions with INFORMS and The Institute of Management Sciences, such as departmental editor, editor in chief of Management Science and founding editor of Marketing Science. He has also served as an academic trustee of the Marketing Science Institute and a member of the review panel for the National Science Foundation. In addition, he was on the editorial boards of the Journal of Marketing Research and the Journal of Marketing.

Prof. Morrison came to the UCLA Anderson Graduate School of Management in 1988 after 22 years at the Graduate School of Business at Columbia University. He is the William Leonhard Professor of Management at UCLA. Morrison is the author or co-author of more than 90 articles in referred journals with special emphasis on marketing research and applied statistics. He has been an expert witness as a statistician in a number of legal cases and a consultant to industrial firms and governmental agencies. He is the co-author of a book, Stochastic Models of Buying Behavior, with William F. Massey and David B. Montgomery. He is the Faculty Athletic Representative for UCLA’s intercollegiate sports program, a position he has held since 1996. In 2010-11 he is also the President of the Pacific-10 Conference. .

Morrison's most important and rewarding academic contribution is the advising and mentoring he has done with 18 Ph.D. students. Seven of these students currently hold endowed chairs in top marketing departments at universities across the country. On teaching and developing doctoral students at UCLA Anderson, Morrison said, "You give them roots and then wings; it's rewarding to watch them grow as scholars." His research interests are in Marketing, Statistics, Probability, Sports, and Coupons.

Morrison is an inaugural Fellow of INFORMS. For his dedication as a teacher, in 2002 Morrison was presented the American Marketing Association/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator of the Year Award In 2003, he received the J. Clayburn La Force Faculty Leadership Award for UCLA Anderson School of Management.

BSME, 1961, MIT; PhD. (Operations Research) 1965, Stanford.