Garth McCormick

Garth McCormick

Past Awards

Frederick W. Lanchester Prize: Winner(s)

The 1968 Lanchester Prize is shared by:

  • Anthony V. Fiacco and Garth McCormick, Nonlinear Programming: Sequential Unconstructed Minimization Techniques, John Wiley and Sons, New York, 1968.
  • Philip M. Morse, Library Effectiveness, A Systems Approach, The M.I.T. Press, 1968.

In the opinion of the Committee, the Fiacco-McCormick book is an outstanding effort. It presents one of the most comprehensive and successful approaches to the analysis and solution of nonlinear programming problems, and is an excellent organization of research work carried out during the last decade.