Best Student Paper Award

2023 Winner(s)

Winning material: Condition-based Maintenance For Wind Farms using a Distributionally Robust Chance Constrained Program

Purpose of the Award

This award is given annually to the best paper dealing with energy, environmental, or natural resource issues by a student author who is presenting at the INFORMS Annual Meeting, as judged by a panel of the Energy, Natural Resources, and the Environment Section. Award finalists will present their submitted papers in the ENRE award session at the INFORMS Annual Meeting. This award was formerly also known as "Student Travel Award" and "Student Paper Award".

Application Process

For more information and the application process, please click here.

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Heraldo Rozas, Georgia Institute of Technology
2022 Winner(s)
Dirk Lauinger, Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne
Dirk Lauinger, Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne
2021 Winner(s)
Cristóbal Pais Martínez, University of California, Berkeley
2020 Winner(s)
Julie Mulvaney-Kemp, University of California, Berkeley
2019 Winner(s)
Jacob Mays , Northwestern University
2018 Winner(s)
Beste Basciftci , Georgia Tech
2017 Winner(s)
Abdul Quddus, Mississippi State University
2016 Winner(s)
Mehdi Behroozi, University of Minnesota
2016 Runner-Up
Álvaro Lorca
2015 Winner(s)
Safak Yucel, McDonough School of Business, Georgetown University
2014 Winner(s)
Mahyar Movahed Nejad
2013 First Place
Rowan Wang
2012 First Place
Sheng Yu, George Washington University
2011 First Place
Sheng Yu, George Washington University
2010 First Place
Li Xu
2009 First Place
Paul Enders, Carnegie Mellon University
2008 First Place
Ekundayo Shittu, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
2007 First Place
Mulan X. Wang, Carnegie Mellon University
2006 First Place
Augusto Ruperez Micola, London Business School
2006 Honorable Mention
Emre Celebi, University of Waterloo
2005 First Place
Jesse Rush O’Hanley, Environmental Change Institute, Oxford University Center for the Environment
2005 Honorable Mention
Sandor Toth, University of Washington-Seattle
2004 First Place
Yihsu Chen, Johns Hopkins University
(with Ben Hobbs)
2004 Second Place
Jordi Cabero, Universidad Pontificia Comillas
(with Álvaro Baíllo, Santiago Cerisola and Mariano Ventosa)
Jian Yao, University of California - Berkeley
(with Shmuel S. Oren and Ilan Adler)
2004 Honorable Mention
Yicheng Wang, University of Illinois
(with Hayri Önal)
Ravi Subramanian, Scheller College of Business, Georgia Tech
2003 Awardee(s)
Matt Thompson