Sanjay and Panna Mehrotra Research Excellence Award

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

The Health Applications Society of INFORMS sponsors an annual competition for the Sanjay and Panna Mehrotra Research Excellence Award, which recognizes a mid-career researcher for significant contributions to the practice of health applications through operations research (OR) and management science (MS) modeling and methodologies. The award is named after Professor Sanjay Mehrotra and his wife, in recognition of Professor Mehrotra’s contributions and dedication to translating OR/MS modeling and methodology research to practice so as to improve the quality and efficiency of healthcare systems, and will be presented at the Health Applications Society Business Meeting at the INFORMS annual meeting. Dr. Mehrotra is a professor in the Department of Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences at Northwestern University, and served on the Editorial Board of numerous operations research journals.

Application process:

Click here for more information.

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Nikolaos Trichakis, Massachussetts Institute of Technology
2023 Finalist
Pengyi Shi, Purdue University
2022 Winner(s)
Mariel Lavieri, University of Michigan
2022 Finalist
Jagpreet Chhatwal, Merck Research Laboratories
Nan Liu, Boston College/Carroll School of Management
2021 Winner(s)
David Papp, North Carolina State University
2021 Finalist
Jónas Oddur Jónasson, London Business School Vishal Ahuja , Southern Methodist University
2020 Winner(s)
Soroush Saghafian, Harvard University
2020 Finalist
Turgay Ayer, Georgia Institute of Technology Carri W. Chan, Columbia University