The Design Science Award

Submission Deadline: October 6, 2014

2023 Winner(s)

Winning material: Consumer Preference Exploration with Unexpected Recommender System

2023 Winner(s)

Winning material: Proactive Cyber Threat Intelligence for Scientific Cyberinfrastructure: An Artificial Intelligence (AI)-enabled Analytics Perspective

Purpose of the Award

The purpose of the INFORMS ISS Design Science award is to promote and recognize research efforts centered on the design and realization of innovative information technology (IT) artifacts.

Application Process


Wolf Ketter (Chair)
Erasmus Centre for Future Energy Business
Rotterdam School of Management
Erasmus University

Martin Bichler
Department of Informatics
Technische Universitat Munchen
Alok Gupta
University of Minnesota

Olivia Sheng
School of Business
University of Utah

Balaji Padmanabhan
University of South Florida

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Pan Li, New York University Alexander Tuzhilin, NYU
Sagar Samtani, University of South Florida
Hsinchun Chen, University of Arizona
2011 Winner(s)
Gediminas Adamovicius Shawn P. Curley Alok Gupta , University of Minnesota Pallab Sanyal , George Mason University
2009 Winner(s)
Shawndra Hill, University of Pennsylvania Sofus Macskassy, Fetch Technologies Foster Provost Brian Dalessandro, Media6degrees Xiaohan Zhang Chris Volinsky, AT&T Research Rod Hook, Coriolis Ventures Alan Murray, Coriolis Ventures Kaushal Chari