MSOM Distinguished Service Award

2023 Winner(s)

  • Feryal Erhun , Cambridge Judge Business School, University of Cambridge

Purpose of the Award

The MSOM Society is now considering nominations for the MSOM Distinguished Service Award. The MSOM Distinguished Service Award was approved by the members at Spring Business Meeting in 1996 in Atlanta and has been given annually since 1997. The award was created to recognize individuals whose distinguished service to MSOM has helped to advance significantly the goals and objectives of the Society. The award is given annually, usually to a member of MSOM. Typically, recipients of this award have provided exceptional leadership in the society through multiple roles, including: journal editor, MSOM Society / SIG officer, or chair of an MSOM / SIG conference. At the discretion of the Award Committee, it may be given to a group of individuals (at least one of whom belongs to MSOM) who have worked jointly on a common project (in which case the prize money is divided among the group). Elected MSOM officers are ineligible for the award during their terms of office. The award is accompanied by a plaque and a $400 honorarium.


Click here for award application information. 

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Feryal Erhun , Cambridge Judge Business School, University of Cambridge
2022 Awardee(s)
Kamalini Ramdas, London Business School
2021 Awardee(s)
Wedad Elmaghraby, University of Maryland, RH Smith School of Business
2020 Awardee(s)
Brian Tomlin, Dartmouth University
2019 Awardee(s)
Christopher Tang, University of California-Los Angeles
2018 Awardee(s)
Beril Toktay, Georgia Institute of Technology
2017 Awardee(s)
Mark Ferguson
2016 Awardee(s)
Serguei Netessine, INSEAD
2015 Awardee(s)
Steve Gilbert, University of Texas at Austin
2014 Awardee(s)
Jeannette Song, Duke University
2013 Awardee(s)
Noah Gans, University of Pennsylvania
2012 Awardee(s)
Stephen C. Graves, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2011 Awardee(s)
Izak Duenyas, Stephen M. Ross School of Business
University of Michigan
2010 Awardee(s)
Tava Lennon Olsen, University of Auckland Business School
2009 Awardee(s)
Martin A. Lariviere, Kellogg School of Management
Northwestern University
2008 Awardee(s)
Gérard P. Cachon
2007 Awardee(s)
Kathryn E. Stecke, University of Texas - Dallas, School of Management
2006 Awardee(s)
Garrett J. van Ryzin, Cornell Tech
2005 Awardee(s)
Gabriel R. Bitran, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2003 Awardee(s)
Uday S. Karmarkar, University of California-Los Angeles
2002 Awardee(s)
Mark Spearman
2001 Awardee(s)
Lee Schwartz
2000 Awardee(s)
Frank Ciarallo
1999 Awardee(s)
Michael Magazine
1998 Awardee(s)
John Buzacott
1997 Awardee(s)
Candace Yano, University of California, Berkeley