Seth Bonder Scholarship for Applied Operations Research in Military and Security Applications

2023 - Winner(s)

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

Seth Bonder Logo

The purpose of the Bonder Scholarship for Applied Operations Research in Military and Security Applications is to promote the development and application of process modeling and operations research (OR) analyses to defense-related applications, including military and national security issues. The award provides funding of $5,000 ($US) to support the development of highly qualified individuals and promote the interchange of military and national security OR research knowledge in conjunction with INFORMS.

The Bonder Scholarship consists of an award of $4,000 ($US) that is intended to provide financial support for a promising new researcher. In addition, the scholarship recipient will be eligible for up to $1,000 ($US) of travel funding to support their participation in Military and Security Society activities at the annual INFORMS conference. An additional $2,000 ($US) award is provided and funded by the Seth Bonder Foundation.  INFORMS will waive Annual Meeting registration fee for the scholarship recipient. The tenure of the award is one year.

Application Process

About the Award/Namesake

Seth Bonder Scholarship for Applied Operations Research in Military and Security Applications

INFORMS records with sorrow the passing on October 29, 2011 of Dr. Seth Bonder after a long illness. Dr. Bonder was a longtime friend of INFORMS and its predecessor society, the Operations Research Society of America, which he served as its president. Dr. Bonder not only endowed two INFORMS scholarships that bear his name; he also took a strong, encouraging interest in the work of the scholarship recipients who came to his attention because of their excellence. His work in national defense and telemedicine made him a much sought after consultant by government and private industry alike. INFORMS, its board, administration, and members, mourn his loss.

Learn more about Seth Bonder ┬╗

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Esther Jose, University at Buffalo
2022 Winner(s)
Soumyadeep Hore, University of South Florida
2021 Winner(s)
Kyle J. Hunt, University at Buffalo
2020 Winner(s)
Joshua T. Margolis, Clemson University
2019 Winner(s)
Nicholas Shallcross, MAJ, AR/FA49
PhD Student
University of Arkansas
Department of Industrial Engineering
2018 Awardee(s)
Phillip R. Jenkins, Air Force Institute of Technology
2017 Winner(s)
Lee Evans
2016 Winner(s)
Isaac Faber
2015 Winner(s)
Ross Schuchard, ARCYBER / George Mason University
2014 Winner(s)
Jason Southerland, George Mason University
2013 Awardee(s)
Nathaniel D. Bastian, The Pennsylvania State University
2012 Awardee(s)
Mehmet Ertem
2011 Awardee(s)
James F. Morris, Air Force Institute of Technology
2010 Awardee(s)
David Myers
2009 Awardee(s)
David Caswell, Air Force Institute of Technology
2008 Awardee(s)
Irina Dolinskaya, University of Michigan
2007 Awardee(s)
Kuo-Hao Chang, Purdue University
2006 Awardee(s)
Sang-Hyun Kim, University of Pennsylvania
2005 Awardee(s)
Subhashini Ganapathy, Wright State University
2004 Awardee(s)
Amanda Muller, Wright State University
2003 Awardee(s)
Marc A. Thibault, George Mason University
2002 Awardee(s)
Noah Joseph Richmond, Stanford University