Saul Gass Expository Writing Award - Application Process

The Saul Gass Expository Writing Award honors an operations researcher/management scientist whose publications demonstrate a consistently high standard of expository writing.   A submission should focus on expository writing, not research accomplishments.

This award recognizes an author whose publications in operations research and management science have set an exemplary standard of exposition. The awardee's written work, published over a period of at least ten years, should indicate (in terms of breadth of readership) an influence and accessibility enhanced by expository excellence. Criteria include the lucidity, conciseness, logic and interest of the writing at all levels, from the general organization to the details.  The author must have affected, through these publications, how something is done, studied, taught, or thought about by some group within the OR/MS community.

The written work can contain any combination of practical, theoretical and pedagogical subject matter, and may be original, synthetic or historical. The corpus as a whole must be substantial in content, not necessarily prize-worthy in itself, but not trivial.

Enough of the publications in question must have been singly authored to demonstrate the awardee’s expository skill. A team of authors writing together consistently over many years may also be considered for the award.   

The winner will receive $2,000 and a framed certificate that includes a brief citation at the INFORMS Annual Meeting.

A nomination will consist of a written statement from a single individual of no more than 1,000 words. A nominator should consist of a single individual, who is a member of INFORMS, who has expertise in, or close to, the expertise of the nominee. Nominations should include references to examples of the nominee's expository writing, as well as evidence of the influence these works have had on the OR/MS profession.

Nominations forms should be submitted online by June 30, 2024.

Submit your nomination here

Any questions may be sent to the prize committee chair.

2024 Committee Chair:

Antonio Conejo
The Ohio State University

Have questions about the award process?  Please email [email protected]