INFORMS Scholarship

2023 - Winner(s)

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

The INFORMS scholarships supports undergraduate students to attend the 2024 INFORMS Annual Meeting in Seattle, Washington, October 20-23, 2024.  This scholarship program aims to foster the professional pipeline of operations research, management science, and analytics researchers by providing undergraduate students an opportunity to experience these exciting fields and gain professional development opportunities by attending the annual meeting.

2024 Committee Chair

Afrooz Jalilzadeh, Ph.D. 
The University of Arizona 

Click here for full committee listing

Scholarships will provide travel and registration reimbursements up to $1,250.

We encourage self-nominations from undergraduate students across a variety of quantitative disciplines, including (but not limited to): mathematics, engineering, computer science, statistics, business, and economics. This scholarship is aimed at two types of undergraduate students:

  1. those already engaged in operations research and management science studies and/or research projects, and
  2. those who have had little to no training in traditional OR/MS courses, but are considering pursuing graduate studies in this area, e.g., a third year undergraduate math major who is contemplating their post-graduation plans.

The awardees will be provided with a recommended schedule to help them enjoy and learn from the conference and other scholarship winners. Specific activities may include:

  • Meeting with ambassador graduate students
  • Meetings with committee members and INFORMS Staff
  • Attending plenaries, selected talks/posters, and tutorials
  • Attending new member breakfast
  • Attending INFORMS Welcome Reception
  • Attending INFORMS society meetings  


  • Student in their final undergraduate year at the time of the Annual Meeting, October 20-23, 2024.
  • An overall GPA equivalent to 3.25 or better on a 4.0 system. 

Application Requirements

An application requires:

  • the student's one-page CV or resume
  • the student's transcript (an unofficial copy is fine)
  • a one-page essay written by the student detailing interest in operations research, management science and/or analytics
  • a letter of recommendation from a faculty member. 

The deadline for applications is July 7, 2024 (11:59pm pacific). Applications should be submitted through the INFORMS submission portal.

Start your submission 

The INFORMS Scholarships Committee will evaluate and select the scholarship recipients.

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Valeria Castro, Universidad de los Andes Ruofeng Liu, Rice University Jake Palmieri, University of Southern California Changkun Guan, Bucknell University Mung Yao Jia, Johns Hopkins University Zach Jordan, University of Colorado Xinchang Wang, University of Michigan
2022 Winner(s)
Kathryn Dullerud, University of Southern California Forrest Miller, Worcester Polytechnic Institute Natasha Patnaik, Rice University Nishant Shrestha, Bucknell University
2021 Winner(s)
Indira Brown, Purdue University Jesse Contreras, Oregon State University Isidore Sossa, University of Nebraska at Omaha Madeleine Pollack, Georgia Institute of Technology
2020 Winner(s)
Mohammad Amir Ahmadian, Sharif University of Technology Isaac Bleecker, Gordon College Imani Carson, University of Michigan Kara Combs, Wright State University Sadie Cox, University of Michigan Helena García Jaimlais, Universidad Adolfo Ibañez Agustín Chiu Lopez, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile Abel Sapirstein, Harvey Mudd College Santhosh Saravanan, Georgia Institute of Technology Emmett Springer, University of Michigan Macarena Paz Navarro Tabilo, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Shengwei Zhang, Johns Hopkins University
2019 Winner(s)
Elisa Danthinne, Northeastern University Michael Gao, Harvey Mudd College Angela Lin, Rice University Luiza Santo, Texas Tech University
2018 Winner(s)
Vinayak (Vinny) Ahluwalia, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Dipayan Banerjee, Northwestern University Caroline Margaret Johnston, USC Hemeng (Maggie) Li, Harvey Mudd College