Koopman Prize

2023 Winner(s)

Winning material: An Air Force Pilot Training Recommendation System Using Advanced Analytical Methods

Purpose of the Award

This Prize was named after Bernard Koopman, a founding father of military operations research. It is awarded for the outstanding publication in military operations research of the previous year. The award is accompanied by a plaque and a $500 honorarium.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

About the Award/Namesake

Koopman Prize

Bernard Osgood Koopman was a founding member of ORSA and a featured speaker at the society's initial meeting in 1952. He was awarded the Kimball Medal in 1980 in recognition of his dedicated service to the OR profession. His special interest in military OR earned him the 1979 Wander Award of the Military Operations Research Society...

Learn more about Bernard Koopman »

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Nicholas C. Forrest, Air Force Institute of Technology Raymond R Hill, Air Force Institute of Technology
Phillip R. Jenkins, Air Force Institute of Technology
2022 Winner(s)
Linan Huang, New York University
Quanyan Zhu, New York University
2021 Winner(s)
Omkar Thakoor, University of Southern California
Jugal Garg, University of Illinois
Rakesh Nagi, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
2020 Winner(s)
David Simchi-Levi , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Nikolaos Trichakis, Massachussetts Institute of Technology Peter Y. Zhang, Carnegie Mellon University
2019 Winner(s)
Miguel A. Lejeune, George Washington University
François Margot, Carnegie Mellon University
2018 Winner(s)
Yan Xia, University of Buffalo
Rajan Batta, University of Buffalo
Rakesh Nagi, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
2017 Winner(s)
Jun Zhuang , University of Buffalo John Coles, Cubric
2016 Awardee(s)
Nathaniel D. Bastian, The Pennsylvania State University Pat McMurry Lawrence V. Fulton Paul M. Griffin, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of ISYE
Shisheng Cui Sharan Srinivas Thor Hanson
2015 Awardee(s)
Bao Nguyen
2013 Awardee(s)
Susan M. Sanchez Thomas W. Lucas, Naval Postgraduate School Paul J. Sanchez Christopher J. Nannini Hong Wan, Northwestern University
2011 Awardee(s)
Greg H. Parlier
2010 Awardee(s)
Edward H. Kaplan, Yale University
2009 Awardee(s)
Moshe Kress, Naval Postgraduate School Roberto Szechtman, Naval Post Graduate School
2008 Awardee(s)
J. Todd Hamill Richard F. Deckro, Air Force Institute of Technology Robert F. Mills James W. Chrissis, Air Force Institute of Technology
2006 Awardee(s)
Paul L. Ewing, Jr., Naval Postgraduate School William Tarantino, Confluent-Data Systems Gregory S. Parnell
2005 Awardee(s)
Edward H. Kaplan, Yale University Moshe Kress, Naval Postgraduate School
2004 Awardee(s)
Stephen D. Biddle, Strategic Studies Institute
2003 Awardee(s)
Matthew S. Goldberg, National Security Division Anduin E. Touw, The Boeing Corporation
2002 Awardee(s)
Edward H. Kaplan, Yale University Lawrence M. Wein, Stanford University, Graduate School of Business
David L. Craft, MIT
2001 Awardee(s)
Israel David, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
2000 Awardee(s)
Kirk Yost, Mitre Corporation Alan R. Washburn, Naval Postgraduate School
1999 Awardee(s)
Dennis Dietz, Qwest (formerly U S WEST) Advanced Technologies, Boulder, Colorado.
1998 Awardee(s)
Katta G. Murty, University of Michigan - Ann Arbor, Dept. of I/O Engineering Philipp A. Djang
1995 Awardee(s)
Martin Shubik Jerome Bracken
1994 Awardee(s)
Hanif D. Sherali, Virginia Tech Youngho Lee Donald D. Boyer